Week #17 (and some 18).

Week 17-18.

Lucas and I have this little debate over the development of the baby and where it sits on the infamous “fruit” chart. You see, when I say the baby is now 17 weeks and the size of an onion, he says it’s almost 18 and the size of a sweet potato. He sees this growth as what we’re working towards, I see it as reaching a milestone. Don’t know what all that means, but I’m sure it’s some sort of foreshadowing to the sort of personality this baby may/will have. And, at the rate my belly has been protruding, I can imagine being 37 weeks along and hearing him say, “watermelon” and me throwing an old curveball with, ummm, no, more like “baby cow”…

Anyway, this week was a good one. I’ve felt the little guy/girl swim around like crazy basically since last Saturday. Guess Baby P. likes the idea of Easter and wanted me to know that he/she is more than ready to join all the cousins in the annual Easter Egg Hunt. We also got to see his/her little cousin, Baby James, this weekend. Funny that the last time I saw James was when I took a girl’s trip with the family to Chicago when James was only 2 months old, and little did I know – I was 4 weeks pregnant. Yep, I was wondering why I was feeling so tired and crabby and carsick that weekend. Then, on the 5-hour ride home with my twin nieces and their new American Girl’s dolls sitting beside me, on the verge of loosing my Steak ‘n Shake steakburger all over their pretty dolls’ heads, it finally hit me…

Fast-forward to 13 weeks later, and here we are at a week I can’t wait to end. In a good way. Because in exactly one week we’ll find out if it’s a he or a she wiggling away in there! We can’t wait! Seriously, more power to the people who hold out through the whole pregnancy to find out, but I am not one of them. I am so excited to buy pretty pink dresses / baby blue fishing gear. And to get that nursery ready! And once we know what it is, I can stop calling this poor thing an “it” and give it some personification. I think about 35 people have asked if we have an premonitions about what it is. Nope. Couldn’t say. I guess I’m leaning towards girl, but I think it’s just because I like brainstorming cute girl names. (Lucas pretty much already has the strong Italian boy names narrowed down). So, we’ll see. It’ll be a happy surprise either way.

What do you think? Any guesses on whether the sweet potato/mango will be sporting blue or pink next week?

1 Comment

Filed under Fruit Chart, This Week.

One response to “Week #17 (and some 18).

  1. I’m all for pretty pink dresses. I vote girl!

Leave a Reply

